The American Historical Society announces its 2020 awards

Here are a few that might be of interest to readers of The Way of Improvement Leads Home:

Award for Scholarly Distinction: David Levering Lewis, New York University.

Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award: Robert D. Johnson, University of Illinois at Chicago.

Herbert Feis Award in Public History: Valerie Paley, Center for Women’s History, New-York Historical Society

Allen K. Breveridge Award in American History: Jeremy Zallen, Lafayette College for American Lucifers: The Dark History of Artificial Light, 1750–1865 (Univ. of North Carolina Press)

Raymond J. Cunningham Prize for Undergraduate Journal Article: Jubilee Marshall, Villanova University (BA, 2019): “Race, Death, and Public Health in Early Philadelphia, 1750–1793,” Pennsylvania History: A Journal of Mid-Atlantic Studies (Spring 2020).

Littleton-Griswold Prize in US Legal History: Sara Seo, Columbia Law School for Policing the Open Road: How Cars Transformed American Freedom

John O’Connor Film Award for Dramatic Feature: Harriet

James A. Rawley Prize in Atlantic History: Sophie White, University of Notre Dame for Voices of the Enslaved: Love, Labor, and Longing in French Louisiana

James Harvey Robinson Prize for Teaching AIDS: Hasan Kwame Jeffries, Ohio State University for Understanding and Teaching the Civil Rights Movement

Click here for a list of all the winners.