The Organization of American Historians Announce It’s 2018 Award Winners

dd137-oahmastheadHere are a few of the winners that caught our eye:

Roy Rosenzweig Distinguished Service Award for an individual or individuals whose contributions have significantly enriched our understanding and appreciation of American history.

Linda K. Kerber, Emerita, University of Iowa

Friend of History Award recognizes an institution or organization, or an individual working primarily outside college or university settings, for outstanding support of historical research, the public presentation of American history, or the work of the OAH.

The Civil War Trust,

Frederick Jackson Turner Award for a first scholarly book dealing with some aspect of American history.

Brian McCammack, Lake Forest College, Landscapes of Hope: Nature and the Great Migration in Chicago (Harvard University Press)

Merle Curti Intellectual History Award for the best book published in American intellectual history.

Brittney C. Cooper, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, Beyond Respectability: The Intellectual Thought of Race Women (University of Illinois Press)

Merle Curti Social History Award for the best book published in American social history.

Tiya Miles, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, The Dawn of Detroit: A Chronicle of Slavery and Freedom in the City of the Straits (The New Press)

Avery O. Craven Award for the most original book on the coming of the Civil War, the Civil War years, or the Era of Reconstruction, with the exception of works of purely military history.

Edward L. Ayers, University of Richmond, The Thin Light of Freedom: The Civil War and Emancipation in the Heart of America (W. W. Norton & Company)

Ellis W. Hawley Prize for the best book-length historical study of the political economy, politics, or institutions of the United States, in its domestic or international affairs, from the Civil War to the present.

Richard White, Stanford University, The Republic for Which It Stands: The United States during Reconstruction and the Gilded Age, 1865–1896 (Oxford University Press)

Liberty Legacy Foundation Award for the best book on the civil rights struggle from the beginnings of the nation to the present.

Ula Yvette Taylor, University of California, Berkeley, The Promise of Patriarchy: Women and the Nation of Islam (University of North Carolina Press)

Mary Nickliss Prize in U.S. Women’s and/or Gender History for the most original book in U.S. women’s and/or gender history.

Tera W. Hunter, Princeton University, Bound in Wedlock: Slave and Free Black Marriage in the Nineteenth Century (Harvard University Press)

Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau Teacher of the Year Award for contributions made by precollegiate teachers to improve history education within the field of American history.

Christopher W. Stanley, Ponaganset High School, North Scituate, Rhode Island

Click here for a list of all the winners.