Alvin Plantinga Wins the Templeton Prize

Alvin_PlantingaThe Calvin College and Notre Dame philosopher has won the $1.4 million dollar award.  Here is a taste of Chris Herlinger’s report at Religion News Service:

American scholar Alvin Plantinga, a pioneering advocate for theism, or belief in God, as a serious philosophical position within academic circles, was named the winner of the 2017 Templeton Prize.

Plantinga, 84, a retired professor at the University of Notre Dame, won the award for revolutionizing “the way we think,” said Heather Templeton Dill, president of the John Templeton Foundation, which awards the annual prize.

“Alvin Plantinga recognized that not only did religious belief not conflict with serious philosophical work, but that it could make crucial contributions to addressing perennial problems in philosophy,” Dill said Tuesday (April 25) in an online announcement of this year’s award.

Because of Plantinga’s influence, it is no longer unusual for philosophy professors to bring their religious commitments to bear on their work, whether they be Buddhist, Jewish or Muslim, the Templeton Foundation’s statement said.

Until Plantinga, many philosophers viewed theistic belief as logically incompatible with the reality of evil.

Countering that, Plantinga, whose own religious tradition is Dutch Christian Reformed, argued that, “in a world with free creatures, God cannot determine their behavior, so even an omnipotent God might not be able to create a world where all creatures will always freely choose to do good,” the announcement said.

Plantinga’s landmark 1974 “God, Freedom, and Evil” is now “almost universally recognized as having laid to rest the logical problem of evil against theism,” the foundation noted.

In a statement, Plantinga, who taught at the University of Notre Dame for 18 years until retiring in 2010, struck a modest note, saying that if his work played a role in transforming the field of philosophy, he “would be very pleased.”

Read the rest here.

Christianity Today covers the story here with references to Plantinga’s contribution to the “evangelical mind.”

Other winners of the Templeton Prize have included Rabbi Jonathan Sacks, Desmond Tutu, the Dalai Lama, Charles Taylor, John Polkinghorne, Bill Bright, Michael Novak, Charles Colson, Alexandr Solzhenitsyn, Billy Graham, and Mother Theresa.


One thought on “Alvin Plantinga Wins the Templeton Prize

Comments are closed.