O’Shaughnessy Wins George Washington Book Prize

Since I was away from the blog last week I did not get a chance to write a post on the announcement of the 2014 George Washington Book Prize winner.  This year’s winner was Andrew O’Shaughnessy’s book The Men Who Lost America: British Leadership, the American Revolution, and the Fate of America.

Some might call this a bit of an upset, but only because another one of the books chosen as a finalist, Alan Taylor’s The Internal Emeny: Slavery and War in Virginia, 1772-1832, won this year’s Pulitzer Prize for history.  (The other finalist was Jeffrey Pasley’s The First Presidential Contest: 1796 and the Founding of American Democracy).  The judges for this year’s award were Gordon Wood, Joyce Appleby, and Annette Gordon-Reed.

As some of you may recall, my Was America Founded as a Christian Nation?: A Historical Introduction was one of the three finalists in 2012.

One thought on “O’Shaughnessy Wins George Washington Book Prize

  1. Infatti, ha incontrato Rolex Replica il suo primo successo dopo adattato un motociclo di MX, che gli è valso il riconoscimento Replica Rolex della stampa specializzata internazionale e l'accesso ai campionati internazionali più famosi come il “AMD mondo campionato di Bike Building”, per cui ha finito terzo nella categoria Harley nel 2010, o anche il “arte di ferro Master builders campionato.


Comments are closed.