Ed Ayers and Natalie Zemon Davis Receive National Humanities Medals

Ed Ayers

Glad to see these two excellent historians receive this distinguished honor.  Here is a taste of Vanessa Varin’s report at AHA Today

Among the list are historians Edward L. Ayers, a current AHA member, and Natalie Zemon Davis, past AHA president.  Ayers will be honored for his “commitment to making our history as widely available and accessible as possible.  Dr. Ayers’ innovations in digital humanities extend higher learning beyond campus boundaries and allow broad audiences to discover the past in new ways.”  Davis will be recognized for her “insights into the study of history and her exacting eloquence in bringing the past into focus.  With vivid description and exhaustive research, her works allow us to experience life through our ancestors’ eyes and to truly engage with our history.

Other recipients of this year’ medal include: Joan Didion, Marilynne Robinson, Frank Deford, and Robert Putnam.

You can watch today’s 2pm ceremony at White House Live.